There are two areas of flexibility for providing users permission to access, edit, and share assets (workspaces, streams, taxonomies, stopword lists, etc.) on the Stratifyd platform. The first is user privileges, which are assigned individually to a user from the asset itself. The second is via groups, where groups are awarded privileges to a particular asset, and group members' access to that asset is determined by their access level within the group.
User privileges can be assigned individually to a user directly from the asset. For instance, a workspace creator can assign editing privileges to one or several individual users from the sharing menu. There are four types of user access.
Can View level privileges are the lowest level of access a user can have to an asset. Users with this level of access can view and use an asset, but cannot modify its contents or share it with other users.
2. Can Edit
Users with this level of access can view, use, and modify an asset, but cannot share it with others.
3. Can Share
Can Share privileges are the second-highest level of access a user can have to an asset. Users with this level of access can view, use, modify, and share an asset, but cannot remove another user’s access. Further, they cannot provide access higher than “Can Share” to another user.
Owner-level access provides the greatest number of privileges to a given asset. Creators of an asset are assigned owner privileges of the asset by default. Owners can edit, use, and share an asset to any other user on the platform. They can also remove access privileges to an asset for users with any level of privileges.
Group Access Privileges
Users sharing an access to a group will notice that they can specify a level of access that corresponds to individual user access to an asset: Can View, Can Edit, Can Share, or Owner. This choice of access privileges does not provide everyone in the group with the chosen level of access, but instead specifies that highest level of access a group member may have to the asset, depending on their level of access in the group. For instance, a Can View member of a group given Owner level access to an asset will not have Owner level privileges; instead, they will only have up to Can View access to the asset. There are four levels of group member access privileges.
Similar to the individual user access level of the same name, group members with Can View privileges may use and view an asset shared with the group. They cannot add or remove users from the group, or modify group members' access levels.
2. Can Edit
Can Edit users can view, use, and modify assets shared with the group. These users cannot add or remove users from the group, or modify group members' access levels.
3. Can Invite
Can Invite users can view, use, and modify assets shared with the group. These users can also add or remove users from the group, but only for users of Can Edit level privileges or below.
Creators of a group are assigned Admin level privileges by default. Admin users have up to Owner level privileges to assets shared with the group (depending on the level of access given to the group as a whole). They can also add or remove users of any access level from the group.
Users with Admin level user access may find that they have issues with adding or removing users from a group. Users should turn off their Admin privileges (this is done by going to settings and disabling Admin Access) to modify the groups they manage.
Please sign in to leave a comment.